Chicken and Waffles

In preparation of my book signing I told some of my friends that I wanted to serve chicken and waffles and they gave me a look. My first thought of chicken and waffles is Gladys Knight’s Chicken and Waffles restaurant that I would frequent in Atlanta, GA. However, my friends, being from Maryland, only think of the opposite of something that would be considered upscale. There was a disconnection in our way of looking at the same situation. I missed the connection that they were making and they doubted my idea of what a nice event would encompass. Eventually, we all figured out where we were coming from and the situation was resolved and now we joke about it! However, that situation makes me think that there can be so many disconnections within our communications with others. We could say a phrase or mention a word and it strike a nerve within someone else and we might be clueless. It is so important that we keep our lines of communication open. I have been guilty of not always sharing my feelings and that leading to bitterness, but if I had only said something the issue would have immediately been resolved. I think that is why I feel that it is so important for people to use their voice. I know what it feels like to feel like my voice is gone or insignificant. I refuse to be in that place ever again in my life.

One thought on “Chicken and Waffles

Leave a Reply

